REPORT RASATHANTHRA 2014

On September 24th 2014 IAHEAM and department of Chemistry, University of Kerala hosted a full day workshop entitled RASATHANTHRA 2014 supported by Kerala state higher education council and ANERT, government of Kerala. In the fifth edition of RASATHANTHRA we organized a research promotion workshop for undergraduates' students in addition to a quiz competition and best project proposal competition.

The purpose of the workshop was to explore student scientist in Hydrogen Energy and what new generation brain can think about the dynamic issues of Hydrogen Energy. About 120 student scientist representing various institutions including IIST, Central University of Tamil Nadu, MANIT Bhopal responded in an enthusiastic manner.

The one day workshop began at 8 30 am with the registration. The inaugural function started with the welcome speech by Dr. S. M. A. Shibli, President IAHEAM, Head of the Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala. Dr. T. S. Anirudhan, Professor and Director School of Physical And Mathematical Sciences, Dean Faculty of Science, University of Kerala had highlighted the significance of youngsters' role in the future energy programme. The key note speech was delivered by Dr. Rajesh Kunjanpillai, a scholar from Zurich University. Dr. Rajesh presented the current situation on the need of Hydrogen Energy and other renewable resources.

After the break we had an interactive session with Dr. Vinay Mohan Bharadwaj. He gave an informative talk on the current aspects of hydrogen energy and its application in today's world as expected there was an active participation from the student community. Dr. Suneesh. C. V. Associate professor University of Kerala gave the felicitation.

The balance of the day consisted of project proposal and quiz competition. The best project proposal was presented by students from Noorul Islam University, TamlNadu. The quiz competition began with prelims and five teams were selected for the finals. The five teams were,

- Aravind. R. S and Mustaffa Shahid, IIST, Thiruvananthapuram
- •Jogi Paul, MANIT, Bhopal and Thejus.R. Kartha, Central University TamilNadu
- •Priyadarshini joseph and Lekshmi R S ,University college thiruvananthapuram
- •Ajay Vaishakh. T. S and Anantha Krishnan. A. J, Nooral Islam University Tamil Nadu.
- Aravind. R. and Shankar. S. Menon, Amritha University Kollam

Afternoon session started with the final rounds of the quiz competition. There were five sessions. Each session were carried by five different experts.

- 1. Vaisakh. S, NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram
- 2. Karthik, IITMK, Thiruvananthapuram
- 3. Anupama. V. Raj Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala
- 4. Ammen shah, Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala
- 5. Ramesh. H, Department of Chemistry, University of Kerala

The valedictory function was done by Dr. S. M. A. Shibli. He distributed the prizes for the winners. The first prize was won by Aravind. R. S. and Mustaffa Shahid, IIST, Trivandrum. Thejus and Jogi Paul was the first runner up. The second runner up was Ajay Vaisakh and Anantha Krishnan.

We closed the ceremony with the national anthem at 4. 30 pm.