Report on **HEAM SCHOLAR 2012**

Date: 03.03.2012

IAHEAM marching towards its goal had successfully conducted HEAM Scholar 2012 at Mar Gregorious Hall, Mar Ivanios College, Thiruvananthapuram on 03.03.2012. The event began at 9.00 am with registration of the participants. The program began with a welcome address by Prof. V. Varghese, *Dept. of Chemistry, Mar Ivanios College*. The National Competition for research scholars in Hydrogen Energy Project was inaugurated by Dr. K. M. Francis, *Principal, Mar Ivanios College*. The program was felicitated by Prof. Subhash Peter, *Head, Dept. of Zoology, University of Kerala and* Mr. A. Senthil Kumar, Energy Systems Group, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram.

There were two invited talks after the inauguration session.

- IL-1: "Coupled and chiral plasmons in metal nanostructures" by Dr. K. George Thomas (*Professor, Department of Chemistry, IISER, Thiruvananthapuram*)
- IL-2: "Green initiatives on energy developments" by Mr. K. M. Dharesan Unnithan, (Director, Energy Management Centre, Government of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram. The competition session commenced at 13.40 hrs and was piloted by Mr.B. Jayakrishnan (Joint Secretary, IAHEAM). The short listed five research scholars, as displayed in the website, were formally intimated to present their proposal during the program. Four of them turned for formal presentation:
- 1. Mr. Soumya Pandit; IIT Kharagpur.2. Ms. Linsha Vazhayal, NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram.
- 3. Mr. Kanhaiya Kumar, IIT Kharagpur. 4. Mr. M. Sterlin Leo Hudson, M; Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi.

The neck-to-neck competition included the formal presentation followed by active discussion and interaction by the judges as well as the participants delighted all the participants came from different institutions. The panel of Juries included scientists as well as engineers who coordinate their group in the relevant field in their respective institutions. The Judging panel consisted of Shri. Senthil Kumar, Scientist, Vikram Sarabhai Space Thiruvananthapuram. Dr.K. National Yoosaf. Scientist. Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram, and Shri. Surajeet Mohanty, Scientist, Vikaram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram. Mr. M. Sterlin Leo Hudson (c/o Prof. O.N. Srivastava) from Banaras Hindu University won the title and the award. He was rewarded with a cash prize of Rs. 10,000/-, a certificate and a memento. He made a presentation with the title, 'TOWARDS THE REALIZATION OF HYDROGEN FUELED VEHICULAR TRANSPORT AND THE ROLE OF CARBON NANOMATERIALS IN HYDROGEN STORAGE'. The other participants were given a consolation cash prize of Rs. 1000/-each with a certificate. The cash awards were sponsored by M/s PYRODEVICES, Thiruvananthapuram, and M/s AVIO ENTERPRISES, Thiruvananthapuram.

The program was well attended by students, research scholars, scientists and engineers from different parts of the country. The participants well acknowledged the effort taken by team IAHEAM, for bringing the concept and a platform for the young researchers and students that led to very active interactions. Many people suggested and encouraged to propose new programs.