Report

HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN – 2012

A school level debate competition to create the awareness about Hydrogen Energy and Advanced Materials

Date: 17th December 2012

Venue: Loyola School, Thiruvananthapuram

IAHEAM has effectively organized HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN-2012, a debate competition for school students to create the awareness about hydrogen energy and related advanced materials among school students. This programme was held on 17th December 2012 at the Loyola School, Trivandrum one of the most famous schools in India. The programme was open for all teachers, researchers and school students as audience. The programme was widely published through different mediums including national dailies. Every information related to the HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN – 2012 was made available on the official website of IAHEAM (www.iaheam.org). The programme comprises a preliminary written test among all the registered teams to select the final teams for the Student Parliament. Objective type questions regarding general knowledge about renewable energy sources, important government projects, policies, achievements in India and the future prospects were covered in the preliminary written test.

The event began at 09.00 am with the registration of participants and audience. The programme was inaugurated by Dr. M.R. Sudarsanakumar (Professor, M.G. College, Trivandrum), the Convener of Heam- Parlimantarian 2012, Dr. S M A Shibli (President, IAHEAM) highlighted the significance of hydrogen energy and relevance of the current programme through his theme talk. There was an invited talk in succession to inauguration session by Dr. Bibin John (Scientist, VSSC, Thiruvananthapuram), on the topic "Hydrogen Energy for Sustainable Development". Ms. Anchu from University of Kerala gave a short talk on the topic "The views of students about Hydrogen Energy". The 10 teams selected for the final competition from different Schools were: The Oxford School, Trivandrum, Loyola School, Trivandrum, Kendriya Vidyalaya, Pattom, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Trivandrum, Sarvodaya Vidyalaya, Nalanchira, The Oxford School Kollam, Jyothis Central School Kazhakuttam, M.G. M. Model School, Varkala, St. Thomas School, Mukkolackal and Rani Public School, Vadakara.

The selected 10 teams were requested to get seated round the Hall to debate on the given topics. The participated teams' awareness about the remedy of future problems by hydrogen and renewable energy sources, focusing their individual ideas, countering the feasibility of others' ideas, their immediate focus as the minister concerned, the need of hydrogen energy, the role of school children in creating more awareness etc. were covered during their debate. According to students Hydrogen is a clean and sustainable energy source for the green environment and it must be produced by using renewable energy sources especially from sunlight rather than using electrical energy or fossil fuels. Government and private sectors should collaboratively invest money for hydrogen storage and transportation sector for realizing hydrogen fueled vehicles. The debate was finally adjudicated by the juries to select the team of HEAM Parliamentarians 2012. Finally the team comprising Ms. Irfana A. and Narayan S. A. from St. Thomas Central School, were declared as the HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN-2012. The valedictory section was inaugurated by Fr. Varghese Anikuzhy S. J, (Principal, Loyola School). The cash award of Rs.10,000/- and the certificates were distributed to the winning teams by Fr. Varghese Anikuzhy S. J. (Principal, Loyola School). Many team members as well as the audience expressed good comments and active suggestions about the points to be considered while organizing HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN-2013. The organizing committee expressed its pleasure and extended gratitude to all who participated / helped directly or indirectly for the successful completion of the program. The whole programs came to an end by 3 pm.