REPORT ON HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN-2013

Indian Association for Hydrogen Energy and Advanced Materials (IAHEAM) had successfully conducted a national level debate competition 'HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN-2013' on the topic 'Relevance of hydrogen energy in current scenario' at Govt. Model BHSS, Thycaud, Thiruvananthapuram, on 09/09/2013. The event began at 09.00 am with registration of the participants and teachers. The function started with a silent prayer. The inaugural address was given by Dr. S.M.A. Shibli (Head, Dept. of Chemistry, University of Kerala) who is the president of IAHEAM. Mr. Shajee M.P., Principal, Govt. Model BHSS, Thycaud delivered the presidential address. All the chief guests including Juries were given a warm welcome by the students of Model BHSS, Thycaud.

There was an invited talk by Sri. Jayakrishnan, B., Scientist, ISRO, after the inaugural session. He explained the basics of Hydrogen in a very simple, lucid style and stressed its significance in space engineering. The talk was very much beneficial for the students. After the tea break, the participating students, comprising seventeen teams were seated in round the Hall. Mr.Pradeep P. (II year M.Sc student from university of Kerala) was the moderator of the function. He explained the rules and regulations of the programme. The debate began at 11.30 am. At the first session, each team was given a chance to express their opinion, views, applications etc relating to hydrogen energy. In the second session the students countered each other's opinions with strong value points and some of them pointed out the infeasibility of certain ideas put forward by the other teams. They immensely referred the government policies too frequently. The feasibility of other projects undertaken by the Indian government regarding renewable energy sources was also focussed during their discussion. Few students highlighted many examples from overseas too. The scope of their further studies related to hydrogen energy was also attended by a team.

The judging panel included: Dr. S.M.A. Shibli, Dr.Vijukumar, V.G. (Asst. Professor, Dept. of Chemistry, Univ. College, Palayam, TVM) and Mrs. Rani, K. Pillai (Asst. Professor, Dept. of Physics, N.S.S. College, Nilamel, Kollam). Each team was evaluated by the juries by assessing their communicative skill, way of debating, relevance of their points in the context of energy crisis etc. The team of Sandhya M. and Bhagylakshmi S. of Govt. Girls HSS, Cotton Hill, Thiruvananthapuram, bagged the title of the event 'HEAM PARLIAMENTARIAN-2013'. First runners up were Anjali S. Vijay and Navya K. of Arya Central School, Pattom. The team of Dev Madhav S.D. and Sadia Nassim of Govt. HSS,

Kulathur, Thiruvananthapuram, came as the second runner up. A cash prize of Rs. 10,000 and certificates were distributed to the first prize winners. The runners up were awarded with thought provoking books in science along with certificates and all the other participants were given consolation prizes and certificates. After distributing the prizes, the juries expressed their views and experiences about the programme. Mr. Shajee M.P. was honoured with a memento by the President of IAHEAM, pertained to the event 'Heam Parliamentarian-2013' for his endless assistance and broad support for conducting the programme. The juries were also honoured with mementos. Many participants and teachers made some discussion after Lunch. The programme came to an end by 3.30pm.